The Penitent Pirate – Pirates of Port Royal #3

Time: Historical

MCs: MM

Sub-Genre: Historical Romance; Pirate Romance

Themes: Pirates; Found Family; Size Gap; BDSM; Kink; Inter-Ethnic; Master-sub; Erotica; Romance; Love

Summary: After peaceful months ashore, Perry and Quinn are ready to return to the life they love—roving with the Brethren of the Coast aboard the pirate ship Audacious. But Quinn is still haunted by his torture in a Spanish dungeon. Perry hopes being back at sea will restore his matelot to his old self. But to Perry’s dismay, Raphe Ashburn of Night Hawk has returned to Port Royal. Charming, aristocratic, witty—Captain Ashburn is everything Perry wishes he could be. Once, he and Quinn burned up Port Royal with their passion. Now he wants Quinn back, and he’s not above any nasty trick to achieve his aim. But with England on the brink of war, Perry is reluctant to challenge, and perhaps lose, a valuable ally in the coming conflict. And then a rival from Perry’s old ship reappears when he’s least expected. Perry is forced to return to the navy and renounce his pirate brethren. And he can’t tell anyone the truth lest he puts them in grave peril. Perry fears he’ll never see his matelot again, for Quinn is not the man to brook such a betrayal. And the dashing Captain Ashburn is waiting in the wings…- Goodreads

What I Think: Warning – Long Review Ahead!! This Authoress gave me this tale when I confessed just how bad I wanted to see my boyfriends again because more, always more, and never too much muchness. We have some mysteries to solve though – who’s the cloaked figure stirring up trouble? Will my shy boyfriend continue with the strength and courage he showed before? Will my bold tamer find his strength after his horrors? Heart in one hand, wicked curved sabre in the other, let’s do this. And we’re off to a shocking start! Our dark, little, trouble rousing sparrow is not what I expected at all. But, ooohhh, such a lush surprise has me wanting all the details. Only to be plunged into a nightmare that feels too real. Oh lawdess, hasn’t Quinn suffered enough? The relief from it being just nightmares was heavily laced with regret over Quinn’s PTSD, as trauma continues to live with him even as Perry settles into his new life. He makes my inner fish wife so proud that my tummy warmed and tickled. That potty mouth sounds so good on my sweetie. The Black Wolf’s behaviour is making my chest taut, even as Quinn’s words make me want to keep my hand on my sword-hilt because something terrible is afoot. My fears are confirmed when Quin is drawn to another ship again, against his will, and I would gladly stab the Black Wolf at this point because I don’t see anyone but Quinn and Perry suffering and I don’t care for his reasons and intelligent twists at the moment because he’s making me stabby. But, what would we do without him? As usual, there’s politics afoot but I’m too concerned with Quinn’s internal battle as he fights his fears because the tamer can’t go down like this. It makes me want to be the sentinel over their bed because damnit, they’ve come so far and even have an angelic surprise dropped on them. Will the way they comfort, soothe and dance together as matelots ever stop my eyes from prickling? We are not having waterworks today because we are already having a flare and if we start, there’d be too many reasons to continue. Then when I least expect it, I’m choking in laughter. The names of Perry’s cousins make me so relieved on his behalf. Until he roared his full name to the ceiling. Oh lawdess, my Quinn needs to change the name at once, lovers or no, for no man should bear such misfortune among the brethren. Even Quinn is choking with laughter, as I’m dying. I’m laughing so much that I can’t help thinking of PJ being called chuckleguts or some such. Side Step – Shall we sit for a bit? You see, being West African means we have names like these, mostly in a local dialect, and to see it here was such a shock that I’m dying. The unlucky change it or add to it as soon as possible. Which, of course, made my classmates bully me for my Greek name by a woman very in love with a particular movie. Oh lawdess, I need to stop laughing. Wait. Okay. We can walk more safely now. And when they make love, it’s with a symmetry that’s enviable and an intimacy that makes me peek shyly around my fingers. Not fair. When Perry is called by his new name, it was confirmed. I knew that’s the facial expression Perry has in battle because blood sings to my boy. Warning – Rant Ahead!! – Reading certain passages made it shockingly alarming how selfish and bloodthirsty the colonials were. Imagine slaughtering ALL the inhabitants of an entire city just to claim it. Then just walking away from it when they’ve claimed another city they deemed better. What was the point? Lives lost or torn asunder just so someone could cut a new notch on their hilt? This had me dazed for a while till I could shake it off. I understand now why people say it’s easier to hate even though I’ve always, and will always believe the alternative to be my truth. But seriously. Humans. Who would have ‘em? I’m with Jack on this. Rant Over! And just when I hope the grieving is done, my magnificent Black wolf can’t forget or forgive himself and it’s eating him to a point that something must give sooner or later. I pray it’s sooner and I pray it’s healing otherwise, we’re all done for as he’s the brains of this enterprise of deceit and truths. And now Perry is in hot soup. No better way to say it. That cauldron of soup is bubbling very merrily as Perry makes a compromise I fear quite deeply he will regret and my heart’s thudding all anew as fear breathes lightly over my spine. I quickly speed read through Quinn being told the bad news because whose heart can take this much thumping? Only to fall for the Black Wolf all over again when he forces his men to think. I’m so mad at them. They left my Perry behind and yet, to do otherwise would have been to damn his men. I hate adulting passionately! But I’m bribed with a lovely, daring escape that I would love to see on screen because it’s simply splendid and reminded me so strongly of the dead sailors marching under the sea in Pirates of the Carribeans that I paused to go watch just that part. Then Quinn opens up about what he went through with the Chacal and for the first time ever, I agree with Ruse. I would have danced in blood for his sake. Warning – Rant Ahead!! – This guilt that victims of rape have is so twisted. Who made us this twisted? To doubt ourselves even as our bodies are taken against their will? The same way children who’ve been abused blame themselves. How did the human mind get so twisted? And, how did we create a society that thinks it’s okay for the victim to be further traumatised with blame? Oh, my therapist is going to have to dig up a lecture for this one! Rant over!! Finally, the stitches in this weaving had me sagging back in hope and love as fondness squeezed my heart. The bone-deep relief as I say goodbye to my darlings was felt to the tips of my toes even though I lost the battle with the waterworks as my favourite matelots get a chance to keep their miracle! Only one question left – will the Black Wolf ever get a tale?

Verdict? An action wrapped keeper of a comfort tale to remind you that you really are the captain of your ship even as it proves that love can change and heal from the inside out if we only give it a chance!

Find Tale:

B & N

Smashwords

Be an Unashamed Fan!

Instagram

Pinterest

Twitter

Goodreads

Leave a comment