All The RULES OF HEAVEN (ALL THAT HEAVEN WILL ALLOW #1)

Time: Now

MCs: MM

Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance; Paranormal Romance 

Themes: Healing; Forgiveness; Horror; Price of Special Gift; January/December; Recovery; Found Family; New Love; Hurt/Comfort; Bisexual

Summary: When Tucker Henderson inherits Daisy Place, he’s pretty sure it’s not a windfall—everything in his life has come with strings attached. He’s prepared to do his bit to satisfy the supernatural forces in the old house, but he refuses to be all sweetness and light about it. Angel was sort of hoping for sweetness and light. Trapped at Daisy Place for over fifty years, Angel hasn’t always been kind to the humans who have helped him in his duty of guiding spirits to the beyond. When Tucker shows up, Angel vows to be more accommodating, but Tucker’s layers of cynicism and apparent selfishness don’t make it easy. Can Tucker work with a gender-bending, shape-shifting irritant, and can Angel retain his divine intentions when his heart proves all too human? 

What I Think: Finally, a paranormal tale from one of my favorite authoresses which makes it purely irresistible. Mme. Amy’s tales drag one through the feels and this was no different. It’s a sad tale, yet filled with so much hope and renewal, even in the midst of death. Tucker’s mission has been set all his life. All because he inherited something that he didn’t even choose. After watching his aunt fade away in full technicolor, Angel wants to be different with the next empath he has to guide but doesn’t know what’s coming for him even as I ready myself to go to war for Tucker. And then the fall begins from the moment empath and spirit clap eyes on each other. You know the fall I mean, that one I can’t get enough of. I love instalove even more when there are good reasons to fight it. How else do we remember that love makes no sense most of the time? If ever there was a description of a witch’s house that betters the one in this tale, then I haven’t found it. I’m dying here as Angel and Tucker start to navigate not only their relationship, but their newfound family and the job they must both continue. I need to take some time to build an alstar to Tucker. Having been dealt such a cruel hand by the Divine, not only does he still say ”fuck you” to the powers that be while doing his duty, but he finds a way to still be sane and truly happy. Hold on. I need a statue for my altar. I’m dying here. As Angel finds himself bewildered by all things Tucker, including feelings he doesn’t understand, I am choking with laughter. Good thing I’m reading at midnight in my home. If I’m reading this on the bus tomorrow and end up in Psych, you know who to blame. I expected many things of Angel but that he would be this humane? Perish the thought. A psychic… er… sex worker still loving weddings made me want to curl up and hide considering how close I came to giving up on ever finding love. In (Naija speak), I shame for ma sef. It turns out that his Aunt was  surrounded by way more believers than she ever knew, and I was saddened for her and the life she’d lived when she could have had more companionship as she dealt with a spirit that has abilities that are the height of being bigender and who showed his love for her in ways that she never even realised. What a beautiful gift Tucker has and what a high price he’s had to pay. Which of course, made me want to unravel Daisy Place (an innocuous name for a terrible place) in the hopes that I could give Tucker his freedom. There were so many questions that needed to be answered and the Authoress (drinker of her readers’ tears as a Tiramisu) kept me running in the hopes of finding the answers even faster. I thought Tucker had his heart broken when Damien couldn’t return his feelings. That would have been better than what really happened. Ghosts have never been more pitiful nor more alive. The pain Bridget and Sophie endured at the hands of a more than evil man, is unbearable even as glimpses of their love story is enflaming. I desperately need Tucker to deliver some good smacking to their tormentor and it happened in spectacular fashion. Yet, the frustration of not knowing what makes Angel touchable might kill me before the ghosts get Tucker. Talk about the worst cock block ever! How could a story of 2 ghosts leave me so warm that they felt more alive to me than any one else? This tale was heart rending and heart scouring. It felt like I was too sad to even unleash the waterworks as my heart stayed frozen in its grief, bleeding for the ghosts that needed to be released, but shattering again and again everytime Angel needed to soothe the one he loved and couldn’t. Their desire was strong enough to to power them both through the horror of their reality but still sweet with childlike innocence and wonder. The pouring out of the deep love in the Greenaway family’s soul to Tucker at first irritated me (I never lied about being a cave woman) but as the tale went on, I realised it was because I would have loved to have a family like this when my immediate family had no one but each other. No extended family, no friends we grew up with and irritation morphed into longing. The power of self hate and loathing is sickening, enough to make me want to drop all of mine, if only I knew how or had an Angel of my own to rip it out of my soul. Knowing to whom you belong had never been this important as Tucker is embroiled in an all-out war against a vengeful spirit that should never have existed, unwittingly dragging his newfound family with him. Possession has never been so pricey nor so vital as when locked in a bottle of life and death. The last thing I expected was to ache for a monster created, not born. And I lost the battle with the waterworks, lightweight that I am, breaking as Tucker found absolution in the unlikeliest of places. One he wouldn’t even have needed if he wasn’t the innately good man that he is. I hurt, ached, laughed, trembled, froze and melted for this tale. Only one problem: At the risk of being masochistic, is there a sequel? Because I can see ten more books in Tucker and Angel’s eyes. Please, Ma’am, can I have more?

Verdict? A comfort keeper of a tale to remind us that love is pure magical essence, as grounding as its cleansing, as painful as it is truthful, yet all the more necessary for this!

Where to get Books:

Kobo

Google Play

Scribd

B and N

Dreamspinner Press

Amazon

Be an Unashamed Fan:

Website

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

Leave a comment